Nevada electrician license renewal & CE requirements

When to renew, how many continuing-education hours you need, which topics are required, and where to find approved courses. Checked .

Quick answer

Renewal rules by license

Electrician card (local)

RenewalSet locally. Reno ID cards are valid for 3 years; an expired card can be renewed within 1 year with the required CEUs and a reinstatement fee, and after that you retest.Source: reno.gov · as of
CE hours & topicsNot confirmed. Reno requires CEUs from approved providers to renew but does not state the hours on its page.Not confirmedSource: reno.gov · as of
FeesSet locally / not listedNot confirmedSource: reno.gov · as of · Set locally; Reno does not list the card fee on its page.

C-2 Electrical contractor (NSCB)

RenewalEvery 2 years. Nevada does not issue 1-year licenses. The $600 license fee (plus any Residential Recovery Fund fee) is due again every two years at renewal.Source: nvcontractorsboard.com · as of
CE hours & topicsNot confirmed for NSCB contractor licenses; ask NSCB.Not confirmedSource: nvcontractorsboard.com · as of
Fees
  • Application: $300
  • License (2 years): $600
Source: nvcontractorsboard.com · as of · Residential work also pays into the Residential Recovery Fund.

Local electrician cards (by city)

Nevada has no state electrician license. Cities and counties decide whether electricians need a card. We confirmed Reno below; elsewhere, ask the city or county building office.

Reno

Office: City of Reno Development Services
Licenses journeymen?Yes. Electrical work in Reno must be done by a person with a valid journeyman certificate; apprentices need a card from an approved apprenticeship program
FeesNot confirmed
RenewalEvery 3 years. Renew within 1 year after expiration with the required CEUs plus a reinstatement fee; after 1 year, retake the exam
CECEUs from approved providers are required to renew; the hours are not stated on the City page.
NotesAfter passing, apply for the ID card through Electrical Safety Professionals (ESP) with your score report. Homeowners are exempt, and contractors with reciprocal licenses from elsewhere get 12 months before they need a Reno card.
Still openCard fee; CE hours
ContactID cards: Electrical Safety Professionals (per the City) · (725) 214-6004 (source)
Source: reno.gov · as of

Not in Reno? Ask your city or county building office whether it requires an electrician card, or work under an NSCB-licensed C-2 contractor.

Approved CE provider lists (official)

    What we couldn't confirm yet

    We only publish what we can tie to an official source. These items aren't published anywhere we could verify, so ask the office listed:

    FAQ

    How often do Reno electrician ID cards renew?

    Reno ID cards are valid for 3 years. You can renew within 1 year after expiration with CEUs and a reinstatement fee.

    How often do you renew a Nevada contractor license?

    Every 2 years; the $600 license fee is due again at each renewal.

    Which electrical code does Clark County use?

    The 2023 NEC with the Southern Nevada amendments, effective January 11, 2026.

    Not licensed yet? See how to get an electrician license in Nevada.

    Other states

    Compare every state side by side: license requirements by state · renewal & CE by state.