How to get an electrician license in Nevada
Hours, exam, fees, renewal and continuing education for Nevada, pulled from official NV sources and checked .
No matches.
- Licensing body: No state electrician board: the Nevada State Contractors Board licenses electrical contracting businesses (C-2); cities and counties set journeyman rules
- State journeyman license: No (Nevada licenses contractors (businesses, through a qualified individual) under NRS 624, not individual electricians. Journeyman cards are local; for example, Reno requires a valid journeyman certificate to do electrical work in the city.)
- Electrician card (local): Set by each city or county. Reno lists the exam and ID card steps but no hour requirement; see the local table.
- Exam: see below, via Set locally (Reno accepts the ICC G17 or G18 exam)
- Code edition: Set locally. Clark County adopted the 2023 NEC with the Southern Nevada amendments, effective January 11, 2026.
Requirements by license
Electrician card (local)
| Experience | Set by each city or county. Reno lists the exam and ID card steps but no hour requirement; see the local table.Not confirmedSource: reno.gov · as of |
|---|---|
| Exam | Set locally (Reno accepts the ICC G17 or G18 exam). Reno: ICC G17 Journeyman Electrician or G18 Residential Electrician; no pre-approval needed.Source: reno.gov · as of |
| Fees | Set locally / not listedNot confirmedSource: reno.gov · as of · Set locally; Reno does not list the card fee on its page. |
| Renewal | Set locally. Reno ID cards are valid for 3 years; an expired card can be renewed within 1 year with the required CEUs and a reinstatement fee, and after that you retest.Source: reno.gov · as of |
| CE to renew | Not confirmed. Reno requires CEUs from approved providers to renew but does not state the hours on its page.Not confirmedSource: reno.gov · as of |
C-2 Electrical contractor (NSCB)
| Experience | No set hours for workers. The company's qualified individual needs at least 4 years of experience as a journeyman, foreman, supervising employee or contractor in the classification within the 15 years before applying. Accredited college or equivalent training can count for up to 3 of those years.Source: leg.state.nv.us · as of · NRS 624.260(6). One NSCB FAQ page says 10 years and another says 15; the statute says 15. FAQ: nvcontractorsboard.com |
|---|---|
| Exam | PSI. Business and Law (Construction Management Survey) exam plus a trade exam if your classification requires it. NSCB may waive the trade exam by endorsement if you are licensed in a state on its equivalency chart.Source: nvcontractorsboard.com · as of |
| Fees |
|
| Renewal | Every 2 years. Nevada does not issue 1-year licenses. The $600 license fee (plus any Residential Recovery Fund fee) is due again every two years at renewal.Source: nvcontractorsboard.com · as of |
| CE to renew | Not confirmed for NSCB contractor licenses; ask NSCB.Not confirmedSource: nvcontractorsboard.com · as of |
License types in Nevada
- No state electrician license
- C-2 Electrical contracting (NSCB contractor license)
- Reno: journeyman electrician ID card (ICC G17 or G18 exam)
- Other cities and counties: check the local building office
Local electrician cards (by city)
Nevada has no state electrician license. Cities and counties decide whether electricians need a card. We confirmed Reno below; elsewhere, ask the city or county building office.
Reno
| Licenses journeymen? | Yes. Electrical work in Reno must be done by a person with a valid journeyman certificate; apprentices need a card from an approved apprenticeship program |
|---|---|
| Experience | Not stated on the City page |
| Exam | International Code Council (ICC). G17 Journeyman Electrician or G18 Residential Electrician; no pre-approval needed |
| Fees | Not confirmed |
| Renewal | Every 3 years. Renew within 1 year after expiration with the required CEUs plus a reinstatement fee; after 1 year, retake the exam |
| CE | CEUs from approved providers are required to renew; the hours are not stated on the City page. |
| Notes | After passing, apply for the ID card through Electrical Safety Professionals (ESP) with your score report. Homeowners are exempt, and contractors with reciprocal licenses from elsewhere get 12 months before they need a Reno card. |
| Still open | Card fee; CE hours |
| Contact | ID cards: Electrical Safety Professionals (per the City) · (725) 214-6004 (source) |
Not in Reno? Ask your city or county building office whether it requires an electrician card, or work under an NSCB-licensed C-2 contractor.
Reciprocity (licensed in another state?)
What we couldn't confirm yet
We only publish what we can tie to an official source. These items aren't published anywhere we could verify, so ask the office listed:
- Las Vegas, Henderson and Clark County: who issues electrician cards, the hours needed, fees and CE (the County's licensing page lists only contractor and business license rules).
Ask: Clark County Department of Building & Fire Prevention, Permit Issuance · ePlanIssuance@ClarkCountyNV.gov (contact source, as of ) - Reno: journeyman card fee, the CE hours needed to renew, and any experience requirement.
Ask: City of Reno (ID cards produced by Electrical Safety Professionals, per the City) · (725) 214-6004 (contact source, as of ) - Whether NSCB contractor licenses require continuing education.
Ask: Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB) · (702) 486-1100 (Henderson) or (775) 688-1141 (Reno) (contact source, as of )
Get a free renewal & CE reminder
We email you before your license expires with the CE hours and topics your state requires. No spam, one click to stop.
FAQ
Does Nevada have a state electrician license?
No. The Nevada State Contractors Board licenses electrical contracting businesses (C-2), and cities such as Reno require a journeyman card.
What does Reno require to work as an electrician?
A valid journeyman certificate. You pass the ICC G17 or G18 exam and then apply for an ID card with your score report.
How do you get a C-2 electrical contractor license in Nevada?
The qualified individual needs 4 years of experience within the last 15 years and passes the Business and Law exam plus any trade exam.
How much does a Nevada contractor license cost?
The application fee is $300, and the license fee is $600 for 2 years.
Already licensed? See Nevada electrician license renewal & CE requirements.
Other states
- Texas: Texas electrician license guide · Texas renewal & CE
- Florida: Florida electrician license guide · Florida renewal & CE
- California: California electrician license guide · California renewal & CE
- North Carolina: North Carolina electrician license guide · North Carolina renewal & CE
- Georgia: Georgia electrician license guide · Georgia renewal & CE
- Washington: Washington electrician license guide · Washington renewal & CE
- New Jersey: New Jersey electrician license guide · New Jersey renewal & CE
- New York: New York electrician license guide · New York renewal & CE
- Pennsylvania: Pennsylvania electrician license guide · Pennsylvania renewal & CE
- Illinois: Illinois electrician license guide · Illinois renewal & CE
- Ohio: Ohio electrician license guide · Ohio renewal & CE
- Michigan: Michigan electrician license guide · Michigan renewal & CE
- Virginia: Virginia electrician license guide · Virginia renewal & CE
- Arizona: Arizona electrician license guide · Arizona renewal & CE
- Tennessee: Tennessee electrician license guide · Tennessee renewal & CE
- Massachusetts: Massachusetts electrician license guide · Massachusetts renewal & CE
- Indiana: Indiana electrician license guide · Indiana renewal & CE
- Missouri: Missouri electrician license guide · Missouri renewal & CE
- Maryland: Maryland electrician license guide · Maryland renewal & CE
- Colorado: Colorado electrician license guide · Colorado renewal & CE
- Wisconsin: Wisconsin electrician license guide · Wisconsin renewal & CE
- Minnesota: Minnesota electrician license guide · Minnesota renewal & CE
- South Carolina: South Carolina electrician license guide · South Carolina renewal & CE
- Alabama: Alabama electrician license guide · Alabama renewal & CE
- Louisiana: Louisiana electrician license guide · Louisiana renewal & CE
- Kentucky: Kentucky electrician license guide · Kentucky renewal & CE
- Oregon: Oregon electrician license guide · Oregon renewal & CE
- Oklahoma: Oklahoma electrician license guide · Oklahoma renewal & CE
- Connecticut: Connecticut electrician license guide · Connecticut renewal & CE
- Utah: Utah electrician license guide · Utah renewal & CE
- Iowa: Iowa electrician license guide · Iowa renewal & CE
- Arkansas: Arkansas electrician license guide · Arkansas renewal & CE
- Kansas: Kansas electrician license guide · Kansas renewal & CE
- Mississippi: Mississippi electrician license guide · Mississippi renewal & CE
- New Mexico: New Mexico electrician license guide · New Mexico renewal & CE
- Idaho: Idaho electrician license guide · Idaho renewal & CE
- Nebraska: Nebraska electrician license guide · Nebraska renewal & CE
- West Virginia: West Virginia electrician license guide · West Virginia renewal & CE
- Hawaii: Hawaii electrician license guide · Hawaii renewal & CE
Compare every state side by side: license requirements by state · renewal & CE by state.